Upgrading to a new product generation

Upgrade from Audials 2017 to Audials 2018 and transfer your user data, such as your radio favorites, subscribed podcasts, playlists and storage settings.

Examples

Old version New version
Audials 2017 Audials 2018
Audials 2018 future version

Transferring user data

Transfer radio favorites, subscribed podcasts, playlists, storage settings etc. from from Audials 2017 to Audials 2018, or from one PC to another.

Important:

The following is strongly recommended to maximize the chance to transfer your user data, in any situation, even a re-installation after a hard-drive failure.

Keep the old version installed, and install the new version side-by-side, on the same PC.
Uninstall the old version only after all your user data is correctly transferred.
Sign up for an Audials account and keep your installation signed in, always.
Even if you install the software on another PC, or the old installation is lost for example due to a hard drive crash, a great part of your user data can be transferred via Audials account. Additionally, the Audials account lets you connect and transfer user data also to your other devices, such as a smartphone.

Step-by-Step: Transferring user data

  1. If Audials 2018 is already installed and running, close it and start Audials 2017.
  2. Sign in to your Audials account with Audials 2017.
    If you don't have an account yet, you can sign up now.
  3. Export all data marked as "manually (export, import)" in Table 1.
    Table 1. Diverse user data and its corresponding ways to transfer
    Type of user data Installation on same PC Installation on different PC
    Favorites (radio stations, podcasts, music tv) automatically semi-automatically (via Audials account)
    User playlists automatically semi-automatically (via Audials account)
    output storages, including folder and naming rules automatically semi-automatically (via Audials account)
    Anywhere devices automatically semi-automatically (via Audials account)
    Media collection automatically -
    Automatic playlists (including "Last 1000") automatically -
    "Reviewed" state of recordings automatically -
    Wishlists automatically semi-automatically (via Audials account)
  4. Close Audials 2017.
  5. If you haven't done so already, download and install Audials 2018.
  6. Start Audials 2018 and sign in to your Audials account with Audials 2018.

Results

All available user data is now transferred to Audials 2018.

You can now uninstall Audials 2017.

FAQs about transferring user data

Why use an Audials account if all my data was transferred automatically, during installation?
Even if you install the software on another PC, or the old installation is lost for example due to a hard drive crash, a great part of your user data can be transferred via Audials account. Additionally, the Audials account lets you connect and transfer user data also to your other devices, such as a smartphone.
My old installation is already uninstalled, or lost due to for example a hard-drive issue. Can I get my old user data back?
Only if you had been signed in to your account, with your old installation. The procedure equals the one listed in Table 1, under "installation on a different PC"